The undergroundzero festival was founded by Paul Bargetto in 2007 to create an artist driven annual festival dedicated to experimental theater and performance in New York City.  The festival has grown to include international guest artists and in 2012 transformed into a resident artist cooperative.

The 2012 undergroundzero festival took place at The Living Theatre and Clemente Soto Velez June 29 – July 29.  Artists included Leimay, East River Commedia, Hoi Polloi, Shannon Sindelar, Jill A Samuels, The Assembly, The Living Theatre, B – Floor, Anna Brenner, Doris Mirescu, Cinty Ionescu, HOBO Arts Foundation Warsaw, Conni’s Avant Garde Restaurant, Peca Stefan, Patrick Flynn, One-Eighth, Tribeca Lab and Ten Directions, and Ida Daniel.  In addition there were special appearances by Judith Malina, Holly Hughes and Karen Finley.

The 2010 undergroundzero festival took place at Performance Space 122 July 6 – July 25.  Artists included Phil Soltanoff, David Barlow, Performance Lab 115, Jose Zayas, Tim Watts, Aztec Economy, Pinchbottom Burlesque, Leigh Evans, Compagnia Lafabrica, Anna Brenner, Green Hours Theater Bucharest, Saviana Stanescu, Ian Rowlands, Rock Wilk, Axis Ballymun, Doris Mirescu, Theater Bielefeld, Au Ments, East River Commedia, Mercedes Murphy, Eliza Bent, Jeff Grow and Shoshona Currier.

The 2009 undergroundzero festival took place at Performance Space 122 July 7 – July 27.  Artists presented included Doris Mirescu, The South Wing, NU Classic Theater, Wolf 359, Jack Ferver, East River Commedia, Anna Brenner, Blessed Unrest, Andrea Lepcio, Saviana Stanescu, Nathaniel Kressen, Ian Cohen, Pinchbottom Burlesque, Richard Maxwell, Nora Woolley, Eliza Bent, Coffee Cup, and Hoi Polloi.


The 2008 undergroundzero took place at Collective:Unconscious, The Flea Theater, and The Manhattan Children’s Theater July 8 – August 2.  Artists included Freddi Price, Charlie Victor Romeo, Kendall Cornell, John Clancy, Terra Nova Collective, Saviana Stanescu,  Pinchbottom Burlesque, Steven Gaultney, Daniel Irizarry, and Eric Dean Scott.


The 2007 undergroundzero festival took place at Collective:Unconscious July 19 – August 5.  Artists included Michelle Carlo, The Flying Machine, Emily Conbere, East River Commedia, Gillian Chadsey, Stolen Chair, Pinchbottom Burlesque, James Dacre, Wolf 359, Caleb Hammond, Josh Fox, Trav SD, Leah Gelpe, and Harrison Rivers.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.